For suggie photoshoots

Here’s a short post showing my setup when I photograph my gliders.

What I do is not really complicated.
Please keep in mind that I am NOT a professional! XD
I just enjoy taking photos of my gliders.

I use a stand made out of PVC pipes and fittings.
I have three lights with daylight bulbs that I use.
You can use more if you need to. 🙂

(In fact, I have actually started using an on-camera light as well.)

Here’s a photo:

DSC_0967

I change the position of the lights to illuminate the subject properly and diminish shadows, not completely eliminate them. Sometimes the side lamps even end up on the same side.

I sometimes diffuse the lights by placing a piece of white tissue over them. Hey, it works. lol

Making the area and subject bright will help you keep the ISO low so that you have less noise in your photos. ISO, shutter speeds, aperture, white balance, etc are all things you will have to learn to play around with.

Anyway, I drape a cloth over the stand to use as a background.
Then I add whichever prop I want, if any.

DSC_0969

Right now I mainly use my Sony a7Riii but I have used my Sony a7sii and my Nikon D750. I’ve also used a Sony a77 and a Nikon D5100. But other DSLR cameras will work.
Of course some cameras will be better than others but, to be honest, your knowledge and ability will play the biggest role!
Overall, equipment is important, yes, but having the best and most expensive equipment is pointless if you don’t know how to use it.
Which is why it’s VERY IMPORTANT that you LEARN and KEEP PRACTICING. Your first photos will probably suck and that’s ok. You’ll get better the more you practice.

Also, get a fast sd card. I use SanDisk Extreme Pro 95 MB/s sd cards most of the time. They have a writing speed of 30 MB/s minimum to 90 MB/s maximum. They work fine for my Nikon D750 and Sony a7sii but I’m needing sd cards with faster writing speed for my Sony a7riii.
I’m not sure how regular point and shoot cameras will do as gliders often move a lot.

I give them treats so that they stay still.
And I always have paper towels and wipes nearby to clean up their pee and poop.

Oh! And it’s best to do it during the day when they are sleepy. I usually do them around noon.

Lastly, one of the most important things is PATIENCE.
You will need a lot of patience.
Sometimes the gliders just don’t feel like getting their photos taken and you just have to give up and do it another day.

GOOD LUCK!

Here are a couple example photos I’ve taken (with my Nikon D750):

Ex1

Leave a comment