Sugar Glider Toy Making 101

I haven’t logged on for months now. 😂

I had considered making something like this guideline last year but I didn’t think I was qualified since I’m not a “veteran” or a well-known vendor.
But a few days ago there was a post in a FB group regarding sugar glider toys and safety that made me rethink my stance.

I basically asked “why not make a guideline with the basics?”

While many liked my suggestion. Others simply said to go to the forums or other groups because all that is covered there. (Nevermind that the information is all scattered and that there’s not a WIDELY known group that shows how to make them. Those groups are very fringe. I dare say most don’t even know of their existence.)

Anyway, they seemed to have missed my point.

Since the basic safety information is not readily available, I was saying that we should have a toy making guideline that’s easily shareable (because everyone cares about safety, right?).

I wasn’t talking about lists in group files that have some advice but are mostly “Don’t use this” and “Don’t use that”.
I wanted a guideline that actually explained, with photos, how to put together a safe sugar glider toy. But no one understood or they were not interested at all in making one.

So I went ahead and made one. 🙂
I don’t believe we should just send people to more groups or forums. Having people research is fine but having a basic guideline that’s easily shareable and that you can save on your phone, computer, etc, thus be able to access it at basically any time and place, can only help gliders.

I emphasize that this is Sugar Glider Toy Making 101, not 401. Therefore, I obviously didn’t include every single method to attach stuff, all the different items you can use, every single way you can use those items, etc. You can learn all that as you progress and become more experienced.
I think the most important thing is to first have the safety basics down.

Most of the toys in the pictures aren’t even finished toys. They’re just parts I quickly put together to be able to clearly show what I’m talking about. I think having a finished toy with lots of charms, pulleys, etc could confuse inexperienced people, so I didn’t finish them.

PS: I’m not claiming to be an expert but I have been making sugar glider toys for at least three years and I haven’t had any fall apart. And, well, since no one else (not even reputable vendors or “veterans”) seemed interested in making this….I made it. If you want something done, do it yourself, right? 😉

*Click on the picture to open it on another tab.*

Toy making 101

Random….but I originally published this on Sept 6. I don’t understand how it got unpublished and saved as a draft. 🤔

Hopefully it doesn’t happen again.

Leave a comment